You may organize or delete your messages through your Gmail account or terminate your account through the Google Account section of Gmail settings. Such deletions or terminations will take immediate effect in your view. Residual copies of deleted messages and accounts may take up to 60 days to be deleted from our active servers and may remain in our offline backup systems. (emphasis added).Though I don't know if this is a difference based on technological limits, but Google certainly provides more privacy when it comes to Spreadsheets than Gmail. One can only wonder whether this is to soothe businesses who would be fearful of using Spreadsheets. If so, the motto may be in further trouble.